“Catchy-Unique Title About Being Thankful to Get You to Read My List”…

It felt a little cliché to do a post about what I’m thankful for here at Thanksgiving time but then I thought about it and the reality is that like so many, I focus way too much on what I don’t have than what I do. In a season of feeling kind of bleh about where my life is I was reminded of ALL the wonderful things in my life that I have. It’s amazing what a quick attitude and perspective check can do for your soul! We spend too much time comparing our lives to other people that we end up wishing away our time and essentially our lives. In chasing the next step, the next best thing, or not wanting to settle we don’t enjoy what we have in the here and now. So since this Thanksgiving is my 27th Thanksgiving, here’s my list of the top 27 things I am thankful this year:

1: I have a family that loves unconditionally.

2: My parents celebrate their 30th wedding anniversary this coming year and are in the best place they’ve ever been.

3: My younger sister and I have gotten to build such a good friendship this past year and depend on each other like we haven’t before.

4: No matter what crap I have to go through, I always have people to go through it with me.

5: I’m thankful for all the warm & loving memories that my grandparents gave me while they were still with us–and to know I WILL see them again!

6: I’m thankful for my grandma, my nephews and nieces, my aunts, uncles, and cousins. That even though my other family is 10’s-1000’s of miles away, they love and support me!

7: God put two women in my life who have become two of my very best friends and we get to “do life together” as single, late-20 something’s!

8: I have a job with flexible hours and great benefits that pays my bills and meets my needs.

9: I get the privilege of working in a place where I not only get to support the military but I get to work alongside them, both active duty & veterans.

10: I have a loving dog who-though has a ton of energy & can be a handful- she’s loyal and sweet and has been a great companion to me.

11: I may not have a place with vaulted ceilings & granite countertops, but I have a place to live that I can call home -and can decorate to be home 🙂

12: Even though my car has a dent in it from someone else hitting me, it runs and gets me where I need to go.

13: I’m thankful for older friendships that continue through the seasons of change even if we go lengths of time without seeing or talking to each other.

14: I’m thankful for the small group at my church who accepted and welcomed me in to be a part of such a loving and supportive community.

15: For my new church family who have also been so embracing and loving of me especially through my transitions this past year.

16: I’m thankful to live in a country where we may have differing opinions- we have the freedoms and rights to express them, even when we don’t agree with how each other chooses to express them. You have the freedom to do so and so do I.

17: For fun, spunky, kind co-workers who make boring or stressful or long days more of a delight than what it started to be.

18: I’m thankful for all the little kids that play out my front of my apartment-that they are outside playing and are being kind to each other instead of bullying each other and being stuck to electronic screen.

19: I’m thankful for the gifts and talents God has given me that I can share with others and hopefully bless them with.

20: I am thankful for ALL the trials, storms, heartaches, and pain I’ve gone through over these many years who have molded me to be the person I am and that have brought me closer to the Lord and knowing Him.

21: I have my hearing which means I get to enjoy the glorious music that moves my soul!

22: Despite the injuries I’ve suffered, I still get to play sports and lift weights and do other active things that I love to do!

23:   I am thankful for laughter, the slap-happy moments of life, and the people who live those moments with me!

24: Sunsets and that no matter where you are, you get a new one every day!

25: The moon and the stars and clear nights where they shine so bright even in the city!

26: I’m thankful for sunny, summer days spent driving through with the country with the windows down and music blaring.

27: I am thankful for my relationship with the Lord, that it is unique to me. That God loves me and Jesus died for me. That the Holy Spirit guides me even when we have to take the detour because of my own short comings and stumbling. I’m thankful that I don’t have to be anyone else other than who He made me to be and that He meets me where I’m at but is also waiting for me ahead.  And whether I’m in a season of desert or fire or battle or harvest & peace, that He is ALWAYS with me!

What are you thankful for? Who are you thankful for? Tell the people in your life that you are thankful for them and tell them why!

Blessings this Thanksgiving…

Leave a Reply

